top of page
Search

An Early Ending to My College Running Career

Earlier this month, after a week of uncertainty and praying, I made a choice, given and supported by my coaches, to retire from college running early.


I was going through over a year of injuries impacting not only my running but also my daily life and blood deficiencies that left me with no gas in the tank before I even started. It was going to be very difficult if possible, and risky, to try to get to peak racing-like-myself shape in the time I had left, but now I can come back at my own pace. I don't have to push and rush through injuries or exhaust myself further. I can heal and have fun. As coach said, "graduate happy and healthy."


My 13 years of running have had lot of really high highs and really low lows, but the people, opportunities, and faith I’ve gained mean more than anything.

"We know that God works all things together for good." Romans 8:28



It’s a blessing that I got to run in college at all after almost losing my life and being told I should never run again, yet I did, faster and stronger than ever before.


I know that everything I’ve been through is to help others through their struggles, and that gives me purpose even when I feel like I’ve failed or I don’t matter.

"This happened so the work of God might be displayed in [her] life." John 9:3


It breaks my heart to end my college career short of all the goals and opportunities I had ahead of me, but the great thing about running is I can still compete when I am ready, and I still have plenty of time to improve. (hello new American record holders Sara Hall and Kiera D'Amato)


"Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength." Nehemiah 8:10


Never as good as I could have been but still better than I ever was.


But I’m not done.


"Being confident of this: He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion." Philippians 1:6


Thanks: *God’s grace* Coach Farmer who pushed me to be the best athlete and person I could be, there for every joy and tear; Andy for taking me in even when I was a risk then never giving up on me when I went through the darkest time in my life; Ty for always believing in me and having my back; Mom and Dad for always being my biggest fans, traveling across the country in any weather to watch me race.


Even thanks to my first college coach, who did everything he could to bring me to that school then doubted me, abused, in various ways, me and countless other teammates, and got rid of me, because in a twisted way, that got me where I needed to be.


**Look out for your teammates, check on them, speak up, and don’t be afraid to stand up for yourself.


(Here are some highlights from UTC and a few from high school!)






bottom of page